5 Things I Wish I Knew Growing Up

Hello, welcome back to my blog!

Today, I am talking about what I wish I knew as a child. This will be a list style post, let me know if you like this!

1. I wish I knew how much my parents loved me.

There are times in my life up to now where I felt that my parents didn’t love me, but in reality they have done so much for me in my life, plus if they didn’t love me, I am sure that I wouldn’t be in their house right now as I am writing this.

2. I wish I knew how much my parents have sacrificed for me.

As a child, I never knew how much my parents have given up for me. Having immigrant parents, I really had no idea that they had left so much to give me a life here in Canada. They left their family, friends, their home and everything that was familiar to them to give me a life in a foreign country because they knew it was better than their home.

3. I wish I knew that some people just won’t like me.

This I never understood, and I still don’t, but sometimes, people just won’t like you no matter how kind you are and how little interaction you have. In fact, there are people who don’t like me, and I rarely talk to them. I don’t understand why they don’t like me, but know that it isn’t worth your time.

4. I wish I knew that some friends won’t always be there.

I always thought that friends were forever, however, that isn’t entirely the case for most people. I almost never talk to my best friend from childhood at all. With the exception of wishing them a happy birthday, we almost never talk, and we never hang out. Instead I have new amazing friends and a wonderful best friend I don’t think I can ever picture a life without. It is just that way sometimes, but just know that some friends aren’t forever, but when you meet the friends that are, it is definitely worth it.

5. I wish I knew that family doesn’t always have to interfere with your faith.

Even if your family is of a different faith, and you find your calling elsewhere, you have to listen to your heart. Your mind, body and soul tells you what you want. Not your family. If you believe in God, believe in God. Do not let your family’s belief interfere with your relationship with God. The same things go if you believe in any other religion. It may be hard but know that if they are truly family, they will support and respect your decision. If not, then it is okay. They will come around eventually because they love you and want you to be happy.

Anyways, that is all for today my lovelies.

Lots of Love

Julie Nguyen – Just a Vietnamese Canadian Girl ❤

One thought on “5 Things I Wish I Knew Growing Up

Leave a Reply

